Van Buren County 1875 Maps

As there were no bridges across the Des Moines River in Van Buren County until 1873, some townships were laid out with their North or South boundry being the River. With this arrangement there were 14 townships instead of 12. Bridges were built in Keosauqua in 1873; Bonaparte in 1878; Bentonsport, Farmington and Pittsburg 1883-1886; Douds 1897; and Kilbourne and Selma in 1901.